Gateway’s Asiri and Natalie win ‘Fastest Man’ and ‘Fastest Woman’ awards

Asiri Wijesekara, the best performer of ISAC, maturing to be the next Shehan Ambepitiya of Sri Lanka

Gateway athletes displayed their prowess in track and field by winning 17 Gold, 23 Silver and 17 Bronze awards at the International Schools Athletic Championships (ISAC) 2015. The Under 17 sprinter, Asiri Wijesekara won the most prestigious awards of the meet – the best performance of ISAC 2015, the fastest man, the best male athlete and the best track athlete. He was also the Under 17 overall champion and Under 17 boys champion. Gateway’s Natalie Malpana who is also still Under 17 recorded the best timing in the 100 meter event to be named the fastest woman of the meet. Purnima Gunaratne of Leeds International School was the best female athlete, best field athlete and the overall Under 19 Champion.

Asiri Wijesekara’s clocking of 22.08 in the 200 meter event was the highlight of ISAC 2015. He clocked 11.1 in the 100 meters dash. These sensational achievements put him in line to be the next Shehan Ambepitiya who is also an ex-Gateway Athlete. Shehan was the triple gold medalist in the Commonwealth Youth Games in 2008.Asiri has already qualified for the forthcoming IAAF World Youth Championship to be held in Colombia later this year and will be eligible to represent the country in the first Asian Youth Athletics Championship and the Commonwealth Youth Games this year if he repeats this fete in the Asian Youth trials that is to be worked out end of this month.

Among the other top achievers of Gateway this year were Natalie Malpana who won 100M and 200M in the Under 17 girls category. Her timing of 13.00 in 100M won her the fastest woman award of the meet. Another key prospect for the future is Sadeepa Henderson who became the Under 15 Girls Champion. Sadeepa is following the footsteps of her elder sister Nadeeshani who is a national sprinter. Nidula Jayawardena, Udantha Bandara, Sandithi Jayasekara, Shanika Fernando, Hansini Liyanaarachchi, Aqeel Sivakumar, Esala Arachchi and Thivanka De Silva also won gold medals for Gateway.

AsiriWijesekara winning the Edexcel and MTV Challenge Trophies for the Best Performance of ISAC 2015


AsiriWijesekara winning the Deakin University and MIBT Australia Challenge Trophy for the fastest Man of TISSL


Natalie Malpana winning the Monash University of Australia Challenge Trophy for the fastest Woman of TISSL

Sadeepa Henderson winning the Asian International School Challenge Trophy for the Under 15 Girl’s Champion


UK betting sites, view full information bookamkers