Gateway College excels at Basketball

Gateway Girls emerged champions in the Under 20 Inter International School Basketball tournament that was organized by and played at the British School of Colombo. Being unbeaten throughout the tournament, Gateway beat Asian International School 55-18, CIS Colombo 51-37, Lyceum International School Nugegoda 59-18 and Gateway College Kandy 46–23 during the first round. At the semi-final they beat Lyceum International School Wattala 48-28.

The Final with Colombo International School (CIS), Colombo too was one sided with Gateway winning 77 to 56. Sandali Liyanage was adjudged the Best Defensive Player while Aneesha Perera carried away the trophy for the Most Valuable Player of the tournament.

Gateway Boys too had a good season. At the Under 20 Inter International School Basketball tournament, Gateway went until the Semi Final when they withdrew from the tournament. During the tournament, they beat Alethea International School 78-30 and CIS Colombo 48-47. At the Quarters, they beat Lyceum Wattala 70-56.

At the All Island Under 19 ‘A’ Division Basketball Tournament 2018, Gateway Colombo beat Gateway Kandy 78-60 and Ananda College 90-60. At the Quarters, Gateway beat Angel International Schools 81- 74. After losing the Semi Final to S.Thomas’, Gateway went onto beat Asian International School (AIS) 69 to 67 at the Plate Final.

Standing Left to right: Tharindu Fernando (Head Coach), Mihara Ranawaka, Nishenya Fernando, Shanel Dias, Devni Wickramaarachchi, Aneesha Perera, Shaneen Perera, Sandai Liyanage, shanali Kalubowila
Front row: Kiara Ekanayake (CPT), Thariduni Rodrigo, Sayoni Thenuwara, Maleeka Amith.

Standing Left to right: Tharindu Fernando (Head Coach), Iqram Iqbal, Chenuka Kasthuriarachchi (CPT), Maazen Faleel, Disura Dissanayake, Nikhil Jayasinghe, Aaron Fonseka, Iflal Iqbal, Thiasha Rathnayake, Kavin De Silva (Assistant Coach)
Front Row: Kavindu Amarawickrama, Chevaan De Costa, Mirthesh Thurairajah, Tharin Ranawaka

A Degree in Business and Music from University of Adelaide

Open Day on 2 nd November at the Cinnamon Grand

Students interested in music will have a great opportunity in future where they can continue and develop their music while pursing undergraduate studies and obtain a degree from one of the leading Group of Eight (Go8) universities in Australia. Parents and Students are invited to the Ivy Room, Cinnamon Grand on 2 nd November from 12.00 noon for a workshop, and from 2pm – 6pm for the Open Day, to gain first-hand information of this unique initiative.

An interactive and informative Workshop titled 'Out of Africa’ will be conducted by Prof Mark Carroll, Associate Dean, International and Engagement - Elder Conservatorium of Music, Faculty of Arts, University of Adelaide. The workshop will cover: ‘The origins of jazz, blues and rock n roll'; this will appeal to musicians and non-musicians alike. The Open Day will provide an opportunity to meet renowned personalities from our local Music arena, who will share their experiences on the value of pursuing Music with other areas of study.

This initiative has been made possible by two prestigious organisations in Sri Lanka – Gateway Graduate School and Soul Sounds Academy. These two institutions are working together to provide a common first year that can be completed in Sri Lanka and thereafter students can move to Australia to complete the Degree in two more years.

The first year of the degree that will be delivered in Sri Lanka will consist of Business-related modules taught by Gateway and Music-related modules imparted by the Souls Sounds Academy. On successful completion of the first year, students will receive an international Diploma in Business and will also qualify to go into the second year of undergraduate studies at the University of Adelaide, whereby they are able to complete a degree in Business and Music. This exclusive opportunity becomes further attractive to parents, as they will incur less expenses on overseas study of their children with the ability to save a year’s tuition and accommodation fees in Australia.

The agreement between The University of Adelaide, Gateway Graduate School and Soul Sounds Academy demonstrates the University’s commitment to welcome students from Sri Lanka as a part of their vibrant and growing international student community. The University of Adelaide is a world-class teaching and research institution that pursues innovation and prepares the leaders of tomorrow. As Australia’s third oldest university, University of Adelaide has a well-established reputation for excellence and progressive thinking, and are proudly ranked among the top 1% of universities worldwide. Adelaide recognises exceptional people as one of its greatest assets and has over 110 Rhodes Scholars and 5 Nobel Laureates among its distinguished alumni. Students learn with, and from, international counterparts from over 100 different countries, providing the opportunity to build strong global networks.

The common values shared by Gateway Graduate School and the Soul Sounds Academy have enabled the two institutions to support and encourage students to pursue their passion, in the best possible manner. Gateway Graduate School is the higher education and professional development arm of the Gateway Group. The Soul Sounds Academy, has been set up with the objective of creating space for young children and the youth of our country to excel in Music, with opportunities to perform both locally and internationally.

Parents and students are invited to reserve their seats by calling Thilina or Imeshi on 0777060157, 0772256356, 011-2695103, 2695107 or by writing to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

UK betting sites, view full information bookamkers