Gateway Colleges Rajagiriya & Dehiwala shine at the Colombo Model United Nations 2018

After three days of intense debate, the spotlight turned to the students of Gateway College, Rajagiriya and Dehiwala at the the 24 th  session of the esteemed Colombo Model United Nations conference.

Gateway College delegates emerged victorious once again, receiving numerous awards in every single committee at COMUN 2018. It is noteworthy that this is not the first occasion during which the delegates from Gateway outshone them all. Professionalism, diplomacy and talent were prime among the characteristics that these students portrayed at the Colombo Model United Nationals 2018. Their efforts for engaging international foreign policy were rewarded by their rise as an unbreakable, unwavering force of diplomatic strength.

Prashen Fernando and Asjad Arshad secured best delegate awards in the International Court of Justice and United Nations Assembly on Drugs and Crime respectively. Randesh Wickrama, Kumal Udamulla, Abdul Basith Nawshard, Tharidhu Peries and Philip Surendran secured Higher Commendation awards at the Futuristic and Economic Social Council, the United Nations Assembly on Drugs and Crime, General Assembly 4, General Assembly 4 and General Assembly 3 respectively. Deveen Harischandra, Kavin Hasantha Gunasekara, Ashreff Ahmed Mohamed Nazar, Imaad Muwahid, Shaheen Abdul Gani and Malin Kaushika received Honorary Mention awards at the Security Council, International Court of Justice, the United Nations Assembly on Drugs and Crime, General Assembly 4, General assembly 3 and again General Assembly 3 respectively. In the General Assembly 3, Sidhantha Wedanayake received a Best Foreign Policy Statement Award, while Amir Fawaz Ashraff secured a Best Novice Delegate award.

Furthermore, in the ICJ, Prashen Fernando secured the Best Crisis Delegate award, while Asjad Arshad and Tharidhu Peries claimed the Best Delegation, representing the Russian Federation. The continuous support of the staff and alumni of Gateway College has played a major role in the confidence, knowledge and ultimate success of the delegates, paving the way for them to receive such outstanding honours – and the multiple applauds portray the success that the MUN experience has brought about for the students of Gateway. Their experience and the commitment have helped the students of Gateway to speak and assimilate knowledge on the workings of the United Nations.

Seated (L-R): Asjad Arshad, Mr Anthony Chelliah (Deputy Principal), Mrs. Priyanthi Seneviratne (Principal) Dehiwala, Philip Surendran, Dr Harsha Alles ( Chairman), Prashen Fernando, Mrs Vinita Shenoy (Principal) Rajagiriya, Mrs Mystica Waniganayake,(teacher-in- charge), Deveen Harischandra
1 st Row (L-R): Imaad Muwahid,Kavin Gunasekara,Tharindhu Peries, Amir Ashraff, Malin Kaushika, Sidhantha Wedanayake, Randesh Wickrama, Ashreff Nazar, Kumal Udamulla, Shaheen Gani, Basith Nawshard

Gateway College Dehiwala wins the most prestigious National Debating Championship

At the recently concluded Sri Lanka Schools Debating Championship, hosted by the Moot Court and Debating Society of the Law Faculty of the University of Colombo, Gateway College Dehiwala, the youngest of the Gateway Group of Schools, emerged champions overcoming stiff competition from the more established schools in Colombo.

The effort and the hard work of the young debators - Philip Surendran, Maleeka Hassan and Asjad Arshad, was very evident with the skill and confidence they displayed to win the most prestigious debating competition held in Sri Lanka. This marks only the second time an international school has won this Sri Lanka Schools Debating Championship, the previous victors being Gateway College Rajagiriya in 2015.

During the octa, quarter and semi-finals, Gateway Dehiwala beat Colombo International School (CIS), Elizabeth Moir International School and Ananda College to make it to the finals. In a vigorously contested debate, Gateway Dehiwala beat Ladies College to win the prestigious trophy.

This victory would not have been made possible without the hard work and dedication of their coach Mr. Shechem Sumanthiran; and the Deputy Principal and teacher-in- charge Mr. Anthony Chelliah, whose efforts have helped raise the standards of debating and allowed Gateway to excel once again.

Seated (L – R): Mr. Shechem Sumanthiran (Coach), Mrs. Priyanthi Seneviratne (Principal), Philip Surendran (Head Prefect), Dr. Harsha Alles (Chairman), Mr. Anthony Chelliah (Deputy Principal)
1 st Row (L-R): Maleeka Hassan, Tharindhu Peries, Damion De Motte, Asjad Arshad, Sajiid Salem, Ashfiqa Ashraff Ali

UK betting sites, view full information bookamkers