Gateway College sweeps the board at COMUN 2021

Colombo Model United Nations conference, organized by the Overseas School of Colombo is one of the most prestigious model UN conferences held in Sri Lanka. This year the conference was held online from the 6th to the 8th of March. Following three days of tireless debate, the students of Gateway College proved their dominance in the MUN arena once more, emerging as the school with the highest number of awards.

In the First General Assembly, Nishthula Subasinghe won the Best Foreign Policy Statement award. Andrew Surendran and Dhivyakrishnan Thriyampakan secured the higher ranks of the committee receiving Higher Commendation awards, while Kavin Gunasekara achieved the coveted Best Delegate award. In the Third General Assembly, Imra Rizvi won the Best Foreign Policy Statement award while Abdul Aziz and Rukshitha Yoganathan obtained Honorary Mention awards. The Higher Commendation award was received by Timothy Shankar whilst Yusuf Ali Barrie claimed the highly sought-after Best Delegate award.

In the UN Assembly on Drugs and Crime, Sahithri De Silva won the Best Foreign Policy Statement award whilst Aaqil Salih, Gokul Parasuraman and Aathif Anpudeen received Honorary Mention awards. Mihan Hettiarachchi obtained the Higher Commendation award while Shimar Khan secured the esteemed Best Delegate award. In the Economic and Social Council, Sesath Udukalage and Vyshalini Rajendran received the Honorary Mention and Higher Commendation awards respectively, whilst Imaad Muwahid secured the prestigious Best Delegate award. Nehan De Zoysa and Mitiesh Shankar claimed Honorary Mention awards in the World Health Organization, whilst Enosh Solomon won the coveted Best Delegate award. In the Security Council, Themiya Gurusinghe was awarded the Best Foreign Policy Statement award. Shaheen Abdul Gani was recognized for being the Best Executive Committee Member for her services as the Vice President of the Third General Assembly.

COMUN 2021 concluded with a grand total of 23 awards for Gateway students, which has to be considered as an extraordinary feat. The brilliant performance of the students is a testament to the seasoned aptitude and finesse of the school’s MUN club. The unconditional support by the Deputy Principals, Mr. Anthony Chelliah of Gateway College Dehiwala and Mrs. Nishotha Anuraj of Gateway College Colombo, has ensured that the MUN clubs have continued to maintain Gateway’s success.

Seated (L-R) Andrew Surendran, Imaad Muwahid, Mr Anthony Chelliah (Deputy Principal), Shaheen Abdul Gani, Dr Harsha Alles (Chairman), Kavin Gunasekara, Mrs. Nishotha Anuraj (Deputy Principal), Nishthula Subasinghe and Aaqil Salih
First Row (L-R) Aathif Anpudeen, Sahithri De Silva, Rukshitha Yoganathan, , Sesath Udukalage, Themiya Gurusinghe, Timothy Shankar, . Mihan Hettiarachchi, Mitiesh Shankar, Enosh Solomon
Second Row (L-R) Yusuf Ali Barrie, Vyshalini Rajendran, Imra Rizvi, Nehan De Zoysa, Dhivyakrishnan Thriyampakan, Abdul Aziz, Gokul Parasuraman, Shimar Khan

UK betting sites, view full information bookamkers