Gateway College Dehiwala receives major honours at SLMUN 2020

The 13 th session of Sri Lanka Model United Nations Conference was held last weekend, on 12 th and 13 th September. The conference was a memorable one to all who participated, since for the very first time, the entire conference was conducted virtually. Even though MUN online presented a completely new challenge, over 400 delegates from 28 leading schools demonstrated unparalleled resilience and diplomatic finesse. Gateway students proved their unmatched abilities as they engaged with the theme ‘A World of Conflict’ to discuss some of the most pressing international issues and develop comprehensive resolutions.

In the First General Assembly, Andrew Surendran claimed the Higher Commendation award while Venuki Mendis won the Honorary Mention award in the International Atomic Energy Agency. In the Third General Assembly, Imra Rizwi acquired the Honorary Mention award, Timothy Shankar won the Higher Commendation award whilst Shaheen Abdul Gani received the most coveted Best Delegate award.

In the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees, Jehan Makalanda and Shimar Khan received the Honorary Mention and Higher Commendation awards respectively. In the World Intellectual Property Organisation, Abdul Aziz Fauzal Ameer was awarded the Honorary Mention, Mihan Hettiarachchi won the Higher Commendation award while Tarush Wickramarachchi won the Best Delegate award. In the global summit on climate change, Vyshalini Rajendran obtained the Higher Commendation award while Imaad Muwahid received the Best Delegate award. At the International Court of Justice, Adhil Fareed won the Honorary Mention award while Kavin Gunasekara achieved the Best Delegate award.

In the World Health Assembly, Nehan De Zoysa earned the Higher Commendation award and Lahiru Senaratne was awarded the Best Delegate award. Thinula Karunarathne acquired the Best Delegate award at the United Nations Economic and Social Council.

SLMUN concluded with a triumphant victory for Gateway, having secured a total of 17 awards across a range of diverse committees, with 6 Best Delegate awards. The MUN clubs of Gateway Colleges, unconditionally supported by the teachers in charge and the alumni, persists in their path towards conquering the MUN arena.

Second (L-R) Jehan Makalanda, Mrs Nishotha Anuraj Deputy Principal, Kavin Gunasekara, Dr Harsha Alles Chairman, Shaheen Abdul Gani, Mr Anthony Chelliah Deputy Principal, and Imaad Muwahid First Row (L-R) Nehan De Zoysa, Vyshalini Rajendran, Imra Rizwi, Thhinula Karunaratne, Timothy Shankar, Andrew Surendran, Tarush Wickramarachchi, Mihan Hettiarachchi, Adhil Fareed, Abdul Aziz Fauzal Ameer, Shimar Khan, and Venuki Mendis

UK betting sites, view full information bookamkers