Gateway students victorious once again at COMUN 2020

Within the gladiators’ arena, the hard working and determined students of Gateway College emerged victorious by securing five Best Delegate awards across the breadth of six committees.

The upper ranks of the First General Assembly were dominated by Gateway, with Andrew Surendran and Damion De Motte securing the Higher Commendations, while Basith Nawshard claimed both the Best Delegate Award and the Best Crisis Delegate. The same was repeated in the Third General Assembly; with Shaheen Abdul Gani obtaining the Higher Commendation and Farhan Naushad won the Best Delegate Award. Malin Kaushika gained an Honorary Mention with the United Nations Environmental Program, followed by a Higher Commendation from Tharidhu Peries, while Ravija Gunawardana acquired the highly desired Best Delegate Award. Thinula Karunarathne walked away as the Best Delegate of the Economic and Social Council. The International Court of Justice was dominated by Gateway, with Four out of Six awards won by Gateway. Anpudeen Mohamed Aathif and Adhil Fareed won awards for the Best Memorial, Aaqil Salih claimed the Honorary Mention and Kavin Gunasekara secured the prestigious Best Overall Performance Award. Themiya Gurusinghe won the award for Best Foreign Policy Statement within the acclaimed Security Council, while Thriyampakan Dhivyakrishnan obtained an Honorary Mention.

Students of Gateway College remain a force to reckon with in the Model UN arena in Sri Lanka, performing exceptionally well both nationally and internationally. The MUN club of Gateway College, aptly supported by the teachers in charge and the alumni, continues to go from strength to strength with the passing of each conference.

Second ( L-R) Kavin Gunasekara, Mr Anthony Chelliah Deputy Principal, Shaheen Abdul Gani, Dr Harsha Alles Chairman, Ravija Gunawardana, Mrs. Mystica Waniganayaka, Mrs Kanchana Muthiah (Teachers-in-charge).

First Row ( L-R) Anpudeen Mohamed Aathif, Tharidhu Peries, Thriyampakan Dhivyakrishnan, Andrew Surendran, Damion De Motte, Malin Kaushika, Thinula Karunarathne, Themiya Gurusinghe, Aaqil Salih, Farhan Naushad, Basith Nawshard.

UK betting sites, view full information bookamkers