Gateway continues its supremacy at MUN

Within a fortnight of winning the ‘Best Delegation’ award at the Sri Lanka Model United Nations (SLMUN), Gateway College once again emerged victorious at the 4 th annual session of the National Youth Diplomacy Model United Nations conference that took place on the 19th and 20th of October 2019.

The delegates of Gateway College proved themselves once again showcasing their unparalleled aptitude by securing the majority of the awards, through their collective dedication and commitment. In the First General Assembly, Themiya Gurusinghe obtained a double award, receiving both the award for the Best Foreign Policy Statement and the award of Honorary Mention. Kumal Udamulla received a Higher Commendation award in this category.

Abdul Basith Nawshard claimed a Higher Commendation award within the Third General Assembly, whilst Shaheen Abdul Gani won the Best Delegate Award.

At the Commission on Science and Technology for Development, Dhivyakrishnan Thriyampakan received Honorary Mention while Farhan Naushad obtained a Higher Commendation award. Ravija Gunawardana acquired the prestigious Best Delegate Award in this committee.

Within the United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific, Sajid Saleem gained an Honorary Mention and Thinula Karunarathne received Higher Commendation, Prashen Fernando, quite deservedly, won the Best Delegate Award.

Malin Kaushika walked away with an Honorary Mention from the United Nations Human Rights Council, while Aathif Andupeen obtained an award as the Best Novice. The Award for Best delegate in this category was won by Tharidu Peiris.

Both Timothy Shankar and Gokul Parasuraman were awarded Honorary Mentions in the Commission on the Status of Women, while Imaad Muwahid received a double award, claiming both the Best Foreign Policy Statement and the Best Delegate Awards.

Damion De Motte obtained an Honorary Mention award within the acclaimed Security Council; while Kavin Gunasekara acquired the Higher Commendation.

NYMUN 2019 concluded with Gateway College bringing home a grand total of 20 Awards. Gateway College Colombo won the shield awarded for the Best Delegation, for the third consecutive year.

Seated (L-R) Daveen Harischandra, Mr Anthony Chelliah (Deputy Principal), Kumal Udamulla, Mrs. Rohini Alles (Managing Director), Dr. Harsha Alles (Chairman), Tharidu Peiris, Mrs. Mystica Waniganayaka(Teacher-in Charge), Mrs. Samitha Leelaratne (Teacher in charge), Shaheen Abdul Gani
First Row (L-R) Kavin Gunasekara, Farhan Naushad, Themiya Gurusinghe Ravija Gunawardana, Thinula Karunarathne, Malin Kaushika, Damion De Motte, Aathif Andupeen, Gokul Parasuraman, Dhivyakrishnan Thriyampakan, Imaad Muwahid ,Basith Nawshard

UK betting sites, view full information bookamkers