Gateway College Kandy excels at Netball

Gateway College Kandy has yet again established its power in Netball by winning the Under 18 and emerging Runner-up in the Under 16 International Schools Netball Championships. They beat Lyceum International School, Wattala to be the Under 18 champions and lost marginally to Gateway College Colombo at the Under 16 final.

In the Under 18 championship, Gateway College Kandy, having lost to Lyceum, Wattala in the first round came back strongly to beat them 9-8 at the final. During their first round games, they beat Royal Institute 12-6 and received a walk over from OKI International School. At the semis, they overcame Gateway Colombo 9-4. The Captain, Shenali Jayaweera was crowned as the Netball Queen and Budmi Rajapaksha was named the Best Center Court Player of the tournament.

In Under 16, having beaten Lyceum International School, Nugegoda 18 – 2 and receiving a walk over from St. Nicholas, Gateway Kandy beat Lyceum International School, Panadura 15 – 2 at the Quarter Final and Lyceum International School, Wattala 18 – 11 at the Semi Final. Gihansa Nakandalage won the award for the Best Defensive Player in the Under 16 category.

Under 18 Champions: Seated (Left to Right): Budmi Rajapaksha , Mr. A.B. Herath (Director), Mr. Gladwin Canagasabey (Principal), Ms. Lasanthi Wijeratne (TIC / Coach), Shenali Jayaweera(Captain).
Standing 1 st Row (Left to Right): Rachelle Bandaranayake, Yasasri Kodithuwakku, Emina Buksh, Gihansa Nakandalage, Sandaru Kumarasinghe.
Standing 2 nd Row (Left to Right): Limansa Premasara, Rashmi Rajapaksha, Anagi Manthunga, Nima Deen, Chalani Fernando (Vice Captain).

Under 16 Runners-up: Seated (Left to Right) : Limansa Premasara (Captain), Mr. Gladwin Canagasabey (Principal), Mr. A.B. Herath (Director), Ms. Lasanthi Wijerathne (TIC/Coach), Gihansa Nakandalage.
Standing 1 st Row (Left to Right): Sayali Amarasena, Rachelle Bandaranayake, Yasasri Kodithuwakku (Vice Captain), Adhla Lafir, Shagithya Srikanthan, Sandaru Kumarasinghe.
Standing 2 nd Row (Left to Right): Rashmi Rajapaksha, Anagi Manthunga, Binuri Rajapaksha, Emina Buksh.

UK betting sites, view full information bookamkers