Gateway students come on top at Sri Lanka Model United Nations 2018

In an unprecedented show of talent, the delegation of Gateway College Colombo displayed immense dedication and diplomacy at the 11th rendition of the Sri Lanka Model United Nations conference. At the awards ceremony attended by delegates, parents and dignitaries, students from Gateway received numerous accolades, consolidating their winning streak further in the Model United Nations arena.

In the General Assembly Plenary committee, secretary-general of the GCMUN club Kumal Udamulla was awarded the Best Delegate award, while Janindu Nanayakkara received the Honorary Mention. In the United Nations Environmental Program, both Adithi Randeni and Ravija Gunawardana received Higher Commendations. Deveen Harischandra and Farhan Naushad were awarded Higher Commendations in the United Nations Human Rights Council and International Office of Migration respectively. In the United Nations Children’s Emergency Fund (UNICEF), Gateway Students were able to acquire the top three awards, with Siddhantha Wedanayaka and Aaryan Perera winning the Higher Commendation awards while Malin Kaushika won the Best Delegate award. In the ESCAP, Randesh Wickrama was awarded with a best delegate award. In the World Intellectual Property Organization, Basith Nawshard won Honorary Mention while Kavin Gunasekara won the Higher Commendation. Finally, in the prestigious Security Council, Prashen Fernando was bestowed with the Best Delegate award bringing the cumulative awards won by Gateway College to a remarkable 13 awards.

The new entrant, Gateway College Dehiwala too excelled with Areeb Atheel winning a Higher Commendation in the General Assembly Plenary and Philip Surendran obtaining both the Higher Commendation award and the Best Foreign Policy Statement in the International Office of Migration. Shaheen Abdul Gani, Damion De Motte and Tharidhu Peries were all awarded Honorary Mention awards in the United Nations Human Rights Council, the World Intellectual Property Organization and ESCAP respectively. Adheesha Kumarasinghe of Gateway College Kandy won the Best Delegate award in the United Nation Environment Programme and Yasindu Athauda won Honoary mention in UNICEF.

Kisal Wijesooriya of Gateway College Negombo was awarded higher commendation and Best foreign policy statement in UNHRC and Anshul Raj won the higher commendation in General Assembly Plenary committee.

The winning team of Gateway College Colombo.

Seated (L-R): Ms. Udini Karunanayaka Teacher in Charge, Deveen Harischandra, Mr. Anthony Chelliah Deputy Principal, Kumal Udamulla, Dr Harsha Alles Chairman, Randesh Wickrama, Mrs Vinita Shenoy Principal, Ms. Mystica Waniganayaka Teacher in charge.
Standing (L-R): Kavin Gunasekara, Adithi Randeni, Ravija Gunawardana, Malin Kaushika,Siddhantha, Wedanayaka, Prashen Fernando, Farhan Naushad, Aaryan Perera, Janindu Nanayakkara, Basith Nawshard.

UK betting sites, view full information bookamkers